Old Hillary

A rare political post. I’ve pretty much dropped out of politics, but reading that “Rush Limbaugh asked his listeners if Americans want to ‘watch a woman get older before their eyes on a daily basis'” got me going.

Ann Althouse, as a woman getting older on a daily basis (like everyone else), can you laugh off this latest sally from your birthday buddy?

This is a reliable “all’s fair” conservative trope. When, in the 1980s, I wrote a book about the 1960s that conservatives didn’t like (and, in retrospect, I don’t blame them), David Horowitz didn’t find it sufficient to trash the book. He also had to point out that in my author picture I looked older than I was (i.e. I had not striven, as is the norm, to disguise my age), as if that discredited me, rather than him as a reviewer.

For the record, I think Hillary Clinton would be a good president and I don’t think she is too old to be president. (That mysterious “faint and concussion” the article mentions was, in my surmise, cover for a facelift.) However, a baby boomer myself, I also agree with those who are saying that it’s time for most of us baby boomers to have our arthritic fingers pried from the nation’s steering wheel. Just because pols of the Greatest Generation hung on into senility and decrepitude, earning admiration for their staying power and grit, it doesn’t mean we baby boomers couldn’t muster some late-blooming grace and retire into second lives of contemplative creativity and selfless service.

Published in: on July 1, 2013 at 8:34 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://clovennotcrested.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/old-hillary/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am Hillary’s age, and it is too old to be President.

    Wisdom is the well-known companion of age, but she is fickle and likely to depart unexpectedly. It is better for the people that their ruler had a long flirt with her, but only recently persuaded her to share house.

  2. Do you still view her as a good candidate in light of what has come out about her secret State department email service and the Clinton Foundation quid pro quos?

    • In a word: No.

      I’ll try to update soon.


Leave a Reply

